My Top Ten Summer Anime of 2022

The summer season of 2022 is jampacked. Compared to my Spring viewing list, I had a lot more to watch. If I were to numerically rate these anime in my top ten, then the lowest ranking would be eight out of ten. That’s how good the crop of summer anime is. In fact, I still have five more anime of the summer that didn’t make this list, but rank seven out of ten. Which anime made my top ten? Read on, and enjoy.

Fuuto PI Cover

At number ten, I have “Fuuto PI”. This is on my list because of two words: Kamen Rider. This is a quirky action adventure sci-fi anime that gives justice to the Kamen Rider franchise. The Narumi Detective Agency seeks to protect the citizenry of Fuuto from those who abuse Gaia Memories to transform into monstrosities. This animated version of the Kamen Rider tokosatsu franchise provides just enough comedy, romance, and action to make my list. It would’ve been better if this anime came up earlier in the season, but it’s good enough to for Shoutarou, Philip, and the rest of the cast to be at number ten on my list. Plus, that clossing song production is too funny not to watch repeatedly.

The Yakuza’s Guide to Babysitting

At number nine, I have “The Yakuza’s Guide to Babysitting”. So far, this is the father-daughter anime of the year, and it comes from an unlikely pair. Yaeka is the daughter of Yakuza boss Kazuhiko Sakuragi. Tooru Kirishima is the first lieutenant of Sakuragi. Kirishima is asked to babysi–bodyguard Yaeka as part of his responsibilites. The result is a heartwarmingly funny anime that just hits the right emotioanl beats. Yaeka proves to be the counterpoint who softens Kirishima’s view on his obligations. This anime is really endearing. And, as much as I love Anya from “Spy X Family”, Yaeka is undoubtedly her demure, and sweet counterpart.

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?

At number eight, I have “Is It Wrong to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?”. When the first season of this anime came out, I dropped it after two episodes. Hestia was too ecchi for me, and I didn’t really like that it didn’t serve the storytelling in my opinion. I’m a true blue fan of fantasy anime, and this didn’t sit well with me. Fast forward to this fourth season, and some friends of mine recommended it so I was willing to give this new season a try. It didn’t disappoint, and made it to my list of summer anime to watch. Less Hestia, and more dungeon exploring with Bell Cranel is a lot better. The fact that he is doing it with a complimentary party of adventurers, albeit mostly female (harem, right?) makes it that more entertaining. I’m just wondering what the hell kind of stingy Dungeon Master allows their character to reach a maximum of level four in four seasons. That just boggles the mind.

Shadow’s House

At number seven I have “Shadow’s House”. Emilico, and Kate are back for a second season courtesy once again of Cloverworks. This is a fantasy-mystery anime in the tradition of Studio Ghibli…they use children to move the story along. Mysteries solved lead to more mysteries as we find out that the union between shadow and living doll erases the consciousness of the living doll, and could lead to the death of both parties. Yikes. Also, it appears that there is no escaping the Shadow’s House unless it’s through the Grandfather Shadow’s wing. Curiouser, and curiouser. Keep watching.

Call of the Night

At number six, I have “Call of the NIght”. Trivia: Did you know that the voice actress of Nazuna is the same voice actress responsible for Aqua from “Konosuba”? That just shows the voice range, AND comedy range of voice actress Sora Amamiya. This to me is THE romantic comedy of the year so far. Yamori wants to be a vampire. Nazuna thirsts for Yamori’s blood. Thus, a deal is struck with the only way for Yamori to be a vampire is to fall in love with Nazuna. It’s dark. It’s quirky. It’s dysfunctional. It’s romantic comedy at its finest. Imagine a character like Yamori having a harem without even him realizing it. Though this really happens in real life when a beautiful girl (every other girl in this anime) gets rejected by a guy (Yamori) who has eyes for some other girl (Nazuna), and the result makes the guy (Yamori) that much more attractive to chase. It was a close call for this anime to break my top five. Mostly because of the next anime AT number five.

Uncle from Another World

At number five, I have “Uncle from Another World”. This anime beat out “Call of the Night” for the number five slot by the skin of its teeth. Very appropriate for Ojisan who is often (always?) seen as an orc due to his looks. This reverse isekai features the uncle (Ojisan) waking up from a coma that sent him to a magical fantasy world. He wakes up with his full magical powers from that world. You’d think with all his power he’d figure out another way to generate income other than making a Youtube Channel. It is what it is, and poor nephew Takafumi appears to have inherited the denseness of his uncle when it comes to women. There are a lot of head-scratching, AND brain wracking situations in this anime that make it outright hilarious. This is a mature viewing anime because of its content, but I don’t care. It’s as entertaining as an orcish sacrificial ritual.

Classroom of the Elite

At number four, I have “Classroom of the Elite”. Returning for its second season after five years, Ayanokouji is back to his old tricks of attracting every single beautiful girl in his school through sketchy means. And I say that with the utmost respect. His cool, and uncaring demeanor attracts all the girls in his path including those who consider him as an enemy. In an anime built on competion, there’s no beating Ayanokouji as the master of quietely building his own harem. Watch, and learn fellow otakus. Watch, and learn.

Lycoris Recoil

At number three, I have “Lycoris Recoil”. The best new anime of the summer is also an original anime brought to you by A-1 Pictures. This action adventure sci-fi anime got me at Chisato, and her non-lethal ammunition rounds. And lo and behold we have four female protagonists almost similar to every single four heroin anime trope. This composition reminds me a lot of “K-On!” or “A Place Further than the Universe” but with firearms. I wouldn’t be surprised if people suddenly start to dress up as Chisato or Takina in cosplaying events moving forward. You want some totally new anime to watch for the summer? This should be at the top of your list.

Summertime Render

At number two, I have “Summertime Render”. You know, I was on the fence with this anime as to how good it was when it came out in the spring. That has changed with the second cour continuing in the summer. My word, this anime is bada@@!!! This anime will most likely make my top ten list of best anime for 2022. It also appears that before this anime ends you’ll run into a freight train of great anime storytelling. This would be my highest ranked anime of the summer if not for these children from the Abyss at number one.

Reg, Riko, and Nanachi

At number one, I have “Made in Abyss”. It’s funny that I was joking how Kinema Citrus probably focused all of its resources in making this anime’s second season instead of the second season of “The Rising of the Shield Hero.” I think I was right. This anime is beautiful, and comes back after an award winning first season in 2017, and a similarly beautiful anime movie in 2020. Riko, Reg, and Nanachi are now in the Golden City of the Scorching Sun. The city was created based on someone’s wishes…or was it? This is the most likely fantasy anime of the year with all due respect to my boy Bojji in Ousama Ranking. This is a sad heart-wrenching anime. However, unlike most of its kind, this anime shows you the light at the end of the road. “Made in Abyss” is a classically depicted story of a hero’s quest with these children overcoming challenge after challenge. Yes, they are children, but the challenges they continue to face have matured them beyond their years. Be ready for the one hour season finale. I’m sure that will solidify “Made in Abyss” as the best anime of the summer season.

Agree with me? Disagree? Let me know in the comments. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “My Top Ten Summer Anime of 2022

  1. […] who won the battle of supremacy in high fantasy? Totalling my scores, ten episodes vs. eight, House of the Dragon wins over The Rings of Power […]

    Like

  2. […] summer season is top heavy with some great returning and new anime. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t […]

    Like

  3. […] on this anime because it was from OLM studios. You know, the studio responsible for”‘Summertime Rende“‘? This was worth the gamble, and it has two consecutive cours. Maomao is the main […]

    Like

Leave a comment