The Sandman and Cowboy Bebop at TUDUM Netflix Global Event

I was able to attend the recent TUDUM Netflix Global Fan Event, and as much as I’d like to talk about some of my favorite running shows on the online platform that showed updates in the event ( Stranger Things and Cobra Kai come to mind), I’d rather focus on two upcoming shows that had me watching this event in the first place: The Sandman and Cowboy Bebop. Both Cowboy Beebop and The Sandman will be coming out with live-action series Cowboy Bebop is slated coming this November, while The Sandman has an as of yet unanounced release date. Lucky for me I was able to get a couple of screenshot images of both shows at the global event. So, let’s get the ball rolling, and onto what I picked up from the event.

For months back until today, we’ve had only interviews and a few set images on The Sandman. With TUDUM Netflix, a short video clip was shown of the series. In it we get to see Tom Sturridge as Dream…and it was a visual feast.

As you can see, there are quite a few bits of information coming from the images. One, you get to see Tom in AND out of costume as Dream trapped in a summoning circle. Two, Sandman’s pouch of dust is also shown in the second image. Third, we can see the Corinthian in the subs narrating the events of Dream’s confinement. Fourth, and most importantly to me, it was very striking how the video clip as highlighted in these images bears an uncanny resemblance to the pages of The Sandman: Master of Dreams, the very first issue of the seminal series. If these images from the TUDUM Netflix Global event are any indication, we are in for a series that literally takes its pages from the comic book itself. I myself am giddy with anticipation, and excitement.

Check out the entire video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBXqrBl6pEo

As for Cowboy Bebop, there were a few images released for the series, and even confirmation for the soundtrack in the past. But, a big concern from a lot of fans was the exclusion of Ed from the series. Ed is the young computer hacker who became an essential part of the Beebop crew. Well, we have an update of the character’s status. It’s best that Ein shows you with the image below.

From Ein’s bowl, we can see that Ed HAS BEEN CAST, and we’ll just have to wait for the reveal of who plays Ed’s character when the show releases on November 16. However, this reveal wasn’t the only news we got from Netflix. We also got shown the opening credits to Cowboy Bebop. No words can describe how ecstatic I was to see it. Here are a few screenshots below.

What do you notice from the images? That’s right, this is an anime-acurate depiction of the original Sunrise opening in the 90s. I was givng this video a slow clap when it was done. Any concerns of the series being true to the source were dispelled with this opening.

You can see the full video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq2N-9EmedA

Needless to say, I was brought to near tears when I saw both videos of The Sandman, and Cowboy Bebop. The geek in me jumped for joy and my heart skipped several beats.

What do you think of the news on The Sandman and Cowboy Beebop? Let me know in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “The Sandman and Cowboy Bebop at TUDUM Netflix Global Event

  1. […] didn’t take Netflix long to come up with a second season, and it didn’t disappoint. I must say that the season one […]

    Like

  2. […] Am I right? Am I wrong? I’ll be waiting patiently the next few months to find out myself. Till then, we can all binge watch the three seasons of Stranger Things on Netflix. […]

    Like

  3. […] it in spite of my lack of knowledge with League of Legends. This is an excellent animated series on Netflix so if you are into a great cyberpunk story with outstanding visual storytelling, you should give […]

    Like

  4. […] with the Zatanna story arc. She is one of my favorite comic book characters along with Raven, and Death of the Endless. This is the magic story arc with the Lords of Chaos as the time antagonists. Here we find out […]

    Like

  5. […] of the series. Comic books have long broken the boundaries of age, and cultural conventions that allow the medium to express mature storytelling. So, if you’re looking for a kid-friendly comic book, this isn’t it. However, to say […]

    Like

  6. […] As a season, this latest installment of “Stranger Things” takes me back to season one which is to my mind the best season so far. Though, season four is looking like it will at the very least equal, if not surpass the storytelling drama of season one. That’s just how great this new season is to me. “Stranger Things 4” is now streaming on Netflix. […]

    Like

  7. […] yourself being a longtime reader of The Sandman Comics. Imagine waiting years, and years for the comic book to get a series or movies adaptation of any […]

    Like

Leave a comment