Seven Winter Anime to Watch in 2021

It’s the middle of the winter anime season, and boy did I take my time writing this list. Why? Because, there are a lot of good views out there:whether they be continuing, returning or brand new. Again as a disclaimer, these are anime that I am actually watching, and decided to keep not drop. So without further ado, here are my top seven winter anime.

At number seven, we have ‘Bottom Tier Character Tomizaki’. This is a video game RomCom about Fumiya Tomizaki who doesn’t like the game of life so he escapes into the online video gaming world to escape from his boring, and directionless real life. In comes Aoi Hinami who is a video game addict herself, and classmate to Tomizaki. When the two meet, you have here a very interesting dynamic wherein Hinami tries to help Tomizaki win at the game of life. This sets the stage for some funny momments. Reminds me a bit of High Score Girl, but there are a lot of differences in the treatment.

At number six, we have ‘Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon’. This anime was on my previous list to end 2020, and it hasn’t missed a beat. Join Towa, Setsuna, and Moroha and they continue to slay demons in medieval Japan while they search for the mythical dream butterfly to restore Setsuna’s memories. Along they way, they try to discover their mysterious connection to the Demon Kirinmaru while also discovering the origins of their parentage. This is an action-packed fantasy anime across two ages.

At number five, we have season two of ‘Dr. Stone’. I’ll be honest, when season one of this came out, I didn’t really look forward to watching this on a weekly basis. I took my time watching each episode which was partly a lecture on science. The pace has speeded up in season two, and Senku Ishigama is back to his old tricks again bringing science back into the stone world. War is here, and this truly benefits the storytelling pace of this series.

At number four, we have ‘Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation. I wasn’t even planing to watch this series. I have certain standards to isekai, and when I found out this was ANOTHER isekai, I just rolled my eyes…at first. But, when I got going I found myself laughting and entertained by this gorgeous anime, and the story behind it. A nameless and jobless bum gets reincarnated in a magical world as Rudeus Greyrat from infancy. He grows up with memories of his past life, and promises to correct the mistakes of his previous life. I like this anime because of the redemption arc even thoug Rudy can be a lech sometimes…alright most times. However, this forms part of the character and anime’s charm. This is one of two surprise anime’s for me on this list.

At number three, we have ‘Re: Zero—Starting Life in Another World’. What’s this? Only number three? Sacrilege! Well, the story hasn’t been moving as properly paced as it should in spite of the gorgeous anime by White Fox. I know there is more story to tell, and I really love this series as the one of THE BEST isekai. However, it wouldn’t do justice to the next two anime on this list to rank it higher.

At number two, we have ‘Wonder Egg Priority’. This anime wasnt’ even in my radar. I was lucky I decided to watch it,and contineu through with it. This beautiful original anime made by studio CloverWorks tells the story of four girls led by Ai Ohto. The girls buy eggs which come to life in their dreams as real teenage girls. The goal is to save these girls from their trauma before they wake up from sleep. This anime has a wonderful message of overcoming trauma and bullying. It’s also an anime about growth, compassion and friendship. Mark my words, this has Anime of the Year written all over it. However, that will have to wait for the king of the winter season is taking everyone by storm.

At number one, we have ‘Jujutsu Kaizen.’ Last year I said that this was THE anime to watch for 2020. Look where Jujutsu Kaizen has gone in not even the end of its first season. It already has won Crunchyroll’s anime of the year for 2020. I don’t see the awards slowing down for this series. Juustsu Kaizen continues it’s juggernaut against all competition, and the competition is quite steep. Yuji Itadori and the rest of these characters continue to dominate the animation, story and pace among all the currently running anime. This is a masterpiece from studio MAPPA. This truly deserves to be at the top of my list.

Agree with me? Disagree with me? Tell me what you think in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Seven Winter Anime to Watch in 2021

  1. […] a lot of worthy series to watch. I mean, there were so many entertaining anime to watch from the winter season that I was only looking forward to one series this spring which I had declared to myself the best […]

    Like

  2. […] become more of a blessing than a burden. True, there are some differences between the original anime and this film, but I see no problem with giving Kenshin the ending he […]

    Like

  3. […] baton has been passed on to these three ladies of the next generation. Mind you that this was isekai before isekai even became popular. The Inuyasha franchise was one of those anime that paved the way […]

    Like

  4. […] are now deep into the winter anime season, and heading into the spring season. There are a a few continuing anime from last year, and a few […]

    Like

  5. […] the fall season. It didn’t disappoint. Studio MAPPA has another winner here on the heels of ‘Jujutsu Kaizen‘. There are a lot of similarities between ‘Chainsaw Man’ and ‘Jujutsu […]

    Like

  6. […] top tier. ”Oshi No Ko” is top tier. The gamble paid off for me. A cross between a reincarnation, and idol anime, “Oshi No Ko” is also a social commentary of the idol/entertainment […]

    Like

Leave a comment