My Top Five Summer Anime of 2020

Summer has come and gone in Japan, but the shows go on. And though we are in fall season, I still have time to present to you my top five anime. So, here they are…

Number 5 is GIBIATE. This makes the list because it’s produced by Yoshitako Amano. The same Yoshitako Amano responsible for the Final Fantasy video game initial character designs. The same Yoshitako Amano who worked with Neil Gaiman on the Dream Hunters graphic novel. This is a zombie apocalypse anime, but instead of zombies there’s a virus that turns every human infected into different monsters. Add in a displaced in time samurai (Sensui Kanzaki) and shinobi (Kenroku Sanada) who both help a young scientist(Kathleen Funada); and you have the makings of a gritty post-apocalyptic anime.

I’ll be honest though, the mix of computer generated animation with traditional anime is not the best. The story is also a bit cliche, and the characters are very stereotypical. However, I find myself waiting on the next episode no matter how seriously cheesy the dialogue is. Maybe it’s the opening theme. Maybe it’s the overly serious tone that makes it downright funny sometimes. It’s enough to keep me entertained, and barely makes my list.

Number four is THE GOD OF HIGH SCHOOL. This caught my eye, and it’s based on a Korean webtoon written and illustrated by Yongje Park. The stage is set for the best high school student martial artist to be crowned ‘The God of High School’. Mori Jin, Dawei Han and Mira Yoo each have their reasons for entering this competition. The prize? The winner gets to have any wish they want. However, amidst the backdrop of this martial arts tournament is a conspiracy that involves world domination.

The series is an all-out brawl, and the storytelling is fast-paced. As the story progresses, we get an look at the backgrounds of each fighter participating, and their motivation for winning. It has enough intrigue to move the plot forward, and the fight scenes are top-notch. If you’re into martial arts anime, give this series a try.

Number three is FIRE FORCE. One of two returning anime on my list, this continues the story of the first season. Shinra Kusakabe and the rest of Special Fire Force Company 8 further their investigation into the Evangelist and human combustion. In their search, they uncover a secret that burns into the origins of the Great Cataclysm 250 years ago. What they find out brings into question some well-established beliefs, and slowly uncovers the mystery of Amaterasu.

Otherwise known as Enen No Shouboutai, this is one of the better shonen anime that came out in the last year, and I’m not surprised it got renewed for a second season. The mystery and intrigue remind me a lot of Full Metal Alchemist, but that’s not to say that Fire Force is its equal. Fire Force has its own voice, and it can be sometimes goofy (the first episode comes to mind). It still has a very interesting story, fighting choreography, and animation. It would’ve been number two on my list if not for….

…DECA-DENCE. This anime is my runner-up for the summer. This is another post-apocalyptic anime which involve monsters called Gadoll. The Gadoll bring humanity to the brink of extinction, and survivors struggle to fight of these monsters in a mobile fortress called Deca-dence. Natsume, a tanker girl who dreams of becoming a gear (a warrior who fight off the Gadoll) learns from one of the best gears in history, Kaburagi. These two protagonists strive to liberate humanity from the Gadoll threat, and…something else.

Look, I can’t tell you a lot about this series because it will ruin the surprise. At first you might think this is an Attack on Titan rip-off…it isn’t. It might even remind you of certain isekai…it does, well, sort of. All I can tell you is you’re in for a twist, and several turns if you invest yourself in watching this anime. It’s an anime about changing the system from within. It’s an anime about everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, being important in order for the community to succeed. It’s an anime about second chances in life. All those reasons would’ve put this anime at the top of my list, if not for…well…

You really didn’t think Re: Zero wouldn’t be on my list, let alone be number one. I mean, I wrote about it here on how it was one of the most anticipated anime of the year. That along with the ‘Made in Abyss’ third movie are the two most highly anticipated anime of the year. Yeah, Subaru is a wimpy crybaby. Yes, Emilia can be annoyingly frail (I’d rather go for Rem so sue me!). But this is THE anime that everyone was waiting patiently to return. It came highly heralded, and hasn’t disappointed. I have a soft spot for weak protagonists who develop from rock bottom like this shield hero guy.

But, Subaru and the entire series is all about learning from your mistakes. What would you do to make things right? What would it take for you to give up? Here’s the appeal for me: Subaru never gives up. He tries and tries (even if he dies) until he gets it right. The anime is beautiful. The death scenes are brutal. The message is inspiring. And that’s why ‘Re: Zero—Starting Life in Another World’ wins my top spot as the best Japanese summer anime of 2020.

3 thoughts on “My Top Five Summer Anime of 2020

  1. […] episodes, so they are that good for me to stick around watching. In any case, here are my TOP SEVEN anime of the fall season of […]

    Like

  2. […] year 2020 has been a busy year for me and anime. I can’t remember the last time I’ve watched so many in a year, and that includes the […]

    Like

  3. […] number seven, we have ‘Re: Zero’. Yes, this anime continued during winter, and that’s enough to put it on my list fro 2021. What […]

    Like

Leave a comment