‘An Interview With A Dream Hunter’

In one of my meanderings around a popular social networking site (of which I will not name here, but is quite known to most, if not all, who are reading this), I ran across a familiar name which I decided to add to my contact list. Artist and creator Philip Craig Russell.  At first I was doubtful to whether the name matched the persona of the art nouveau comic book artist I had grown to admire so fondly. But, when we got to chatting, I confirmed my initial suspicions and before I knew it I had enough material for an actual interview with the lapses in time notwithstanding.

P. Craig Russell as the artist-creator is more popularly known came to my attention during his run on the seminal comic book, ‘Sandman’. He was one of several artists invited by Neil Gaiman (who needs no further introduction) to interpret his modern day interpretations of anthropomorphic concepts found in the series. His highly stylized curvilinear sketches have created an art form that is identifiably his own. Here now then is that interview. I hope this inspires you to follow your own dreams.

Rudolph Rabago July 28, 2009 at 7:30 a.m.

Would you mind if I asked you a few questions about your work?:)

Philip Craig Russell July 28, 2009 at 7:46am

My pleasure.

Rudolph Rabago July 28, 2009 at 5:31pm

Could you tell me what your current works are?:)

Philip Craig Russell July 28, 2009 at 11:50pm

I’m doing a 64 page book for Dark Horse adapting 3 of Neil Gaiman’s stories from his short story collection Fragile Things. I’ll be doing The Problem of Susan, Locks, And October in the Chair.

Rudolph Rabago July 29, 2009 at 4:48am

You seem to be doing a lot of those adaptations lately, when are you and Neil coming up with something new as a collaboration?

Philip Craig Russell July 29, 2009 at 5:33am

Don’t know. To me, it’s all the same whether a new script to adapt or an ‘old’ script to adapt. Both result in a new graphic story. Not everyone feels that way though, and I’ve been asked the question before. A few years back we were going to do a new Thor series for Marvel but it somehow fell through.

Rudolph Rabago July 29, 2009 at 5:35am

When are you coming up with a regular series for yourself? I’d love to see that.

Philip Craig Russell July 29, 2009 at 5:42am

If you mean a monthly or bi-monthly book, probably never. I prefer working in cycles. The Oscar Wilde fairy tale series, the opera series, the ongoing Gaiman collaboration, etc.

Rudolph Rabago July 29, 2009 at 5:45am

I have my favorites, particularly your Gaiman collaborations in Ramadan and Murder Mysteries. Which would you consider to be your favorites?

Philip Craig Russell July 29, 2009 at 5:47am

Ramadan, The Dream Hunters, and Murder Mysteries.

Rudolph Rabago July 29, 2009 at 5:51am

Looks like we have the same favorites.Incidentally, I have all three:) Aside from Neil, who would you want to collaborate with in the future?

Philip Craig Russell July 29, 2009 at 6:13am

I’m not following a lot of the more recent books out there but I’ve always liked Brian Bendis. And Mike Mignola.

Rudolph Rabago July 29, 2009 at 6:40pm

Any particular character or genre that you would like to take up with both writers?

Philip Craig Russell July 30, 2009 at 12:49am

Anything with Dr. Strange.

Rudolph Rabago July 30, 2009 at 2:47am

Why that character? Doesn’t he have certain similarities with Morpheus? Aside from the cloak and magic of course….

Philip Craig Russell July 30, 2009 at 4:16am

Yes, he does.
The magic allows you all sorts of graphic abstraction. Personally, a delight to draw. Much more fun than city streets.

Rudolph Rabago July 30, 2009 at 4:22am

It appears to me that, from your choices, you prefer mystical characters and settings rather than the straightforward super hero or even science fiction environments. Any particular reason why?

Philip Craig Russell July 30, 2009 at 5:36am

Like I said, graphic abstraction=fun to draw. Nothing more than that.

Rudolph Rabago July 30, 2009 at 7:58pm

You’ve done a lot of collaborative work already in the graphic novel media.Have you ever considered doing a graphic novel with you as both the original writer and illustrator? If so, what would it be about?

Philip Craig Russell July 30, 2009 at 10:01pm

I have one story idea in particular though not of graphic novel length. It’s on my ‘must do’ list. Sorry, I’m not saying until it’s at least written. Bad luck.

And now I’m off to Virginia Beach. I won’t be checking in until next week.

Rudolph Rabago July 31, 2009 at 5:08am

Enjoy your trip. Thank you for the gracious information.:)

Rudolph Rabago August 7, 2009 at 5:10am

On the side, our thread has grown quite lengthy,lol..would you mind if I posted this on our school paper for aspiring young comic book creators to see?

Philip Craig Russell August 7, 2009 at 5:24am

That would be ok with me. It had the feeling of a formal interview all along so go ahead.

Rudolph Rabago August 7, 2009 at 5:30am

Thanks…! Would you have any final encouraging words for these future artists?

Philip Craig Russell September 26, 2009 at 11:15am

Rudolph,
I notice the date on this post is Aug. 6th but I just received it today. Weird. Probably a little late for final words except to constantly challenge yourself, your only competitor is yourself.

Rudolph Rabago September 26, 2009 at 11:17am

Thanks Craig. Be looking forward to your next set of projects.:)

4 thoughts on “‘An Interview With A Dream Hunter’

  1. […] video game initial character designs. The same Yoshitako Amano who worked with Neil Gaiman on the Dream Hunters graphic novel. This is a zombie apocalypse anime, but instead of zombies there’s a virus that […]

    Like

  2. […] Here he meets Mister Miracle and Martian Manhunter in order to locate John Dee who has Morpheus’s dreamstone. This was because Doctor Destiny was captured by the Justice League in the past and they […]

    Like

  3. […] months back until today, we’ve had only interviews and a few set images on The Sandman. With TUDUM Netflix, a short video clip was shown of the series. In it we get to see Tom Sturridge […]

    Like

  4. […] book accurate voice (it is exactly the way I imagine it from his conversation balloons!), is the Dream King that Neil Gaiman had in mind. Sturridge carries the role to perfection, and performs it with a lot […]

    Like

Leave a comment