What Am I Looking Forward To Seeing in ToyCon 2024?

ToyCon in the Philippines is just around the corner, and if you are as excited as I am, then you’ll make your way to the SM Mall of Asia grounds from June 14-16. There are a lot of toy related experiences to devour with your visit, and here are some of the events I’m looking forward to seeing this weekend.

Firstly, there will be new toylines, and limited edition collectibles released at ToyCon. Among them, two new toybrands will be released by MNDSTYL and the creator of Funko Pop. Toy exclusives from Solid Toys, RLux Custom, Armored Komodo, Devil Toys, Omo Collectibles and more than 50 other Designer toy artists will also be available. I’ll at least take a look at them, and save pictures. Maybe something will show up that I will be willing to spend my funds on? I can only hope.

Voltes V Display

Also, there will be a celebration of the Philippines favorite super robot, Voltes V. Telesuccess Productions, the producer of Voltes V: Legacy will be revealing a twenty foot Voltes V Legacy display at Toycon. And since GMA Network is celebrating its 74th anniversary, expect cast members from the GMA series to show up at the event. Of course, you’re sure to have other Voltes V displays at the event grounds as well.

Speaking of displays, there will be a lot more of these toy displays from your favorite pop culture characters. Whether these be from local cultural icons or foreign, there will be people showing their own collections from Darna to Wonder Woman to Arcee. Want to find out exactly which characters will have a toy display? Visit ToyCon to find out.

ToyCon is also a venue for cosplayers of different fandoms to share their love of their favorite characters. It’s always a visual feast when the cosplay community graces ToyCon. So, be ready with your cameras for photo ops. The photos will surely add more layers to your digital or physical pop culture collection.

There will also be displays, and spotlight presentations for upcoming movies. Some of the movies lined up include “Alien vs. Predator: Romulus”. “A Quiet Place: Day One”, “Deadpool and Wolverine”, “Friendly Fire”, “Horizon: An American Saga”, “Inside Out 2”, and “Transformers One”. Of these movies, I’m most looking forward to the Alien movie, and the Transformers movie, being a long-time Transformers fan. So, if you’re a movie buff, there’s also something for you at ToyCon.

Last but not the least, visiting the toy marketplace is a MUST for me. I enjoy the hunt even if eventually I don’t find anything I need. The interactions I get from sellers, and collectors are priceless. These interactions also provide you with some networking opportunities. In fact, I’ve made a lot of friends at previous ToyCons who are still part of my life now. It’s an excellent opportunity to create more ties in a community that I love.

ToyCon 2024 has many activities to offer to fans on this side of pop culture. These are just the ones that I will hunt down and participate in. Find out more about ToyCon and what caters to you by checking out their official social media sites where you can find them. See you there.

Leave a comment